• Digital planning portal for modern data management

Gasanlagenservice Gelsenkirchen GmbH

Custom-fit industry solution
for a market in transition

Benefits to our Customers

Increased process reliability with partial automation and digitisation

More transparency and optimised planning with mobile, seamless data entry and processing

 

 

Higher efficiency by eliminating paper-based order processing

 

 

  • Requirements

    A mammoth task for an entire industry

    There are currently two different kinds of natural gas in Germany, which are transported in two separate networks and have different calorific values – L-gas (low calorific gas) and H-gas (high calorific gas). According to the German Federal Network Agency, one quarter of German households are currently supplied with L-gas – that means about five million connections. This gas comes from German and Dutch sources, but these will be depleted in the foreseeable future. The alternative is H-gas, which is obtained primarily from Norway and Russia.
    According to a specified plan by the German Federal Network Agency, over six million gas consumption devices must be adapted gradually for a supply with H-gas by 2029. This L- to H-gas marketplace conversion, one of the largest gas infrastructure projects in Germany, has been in progress since 2015. It is a unique but comprehensive mammoth task for the responsible network operators. As the greatest complexities are generated locally at the customer’s sites, this is where the individual gas devices must be identified, documented and evaluated in terms of their suitability for the new type of gas in a so-called survey phase. This is performed by specifically certified gas installers. Depending on the classification, these devices must be individually adjusted a few months later, shortly before or after converting to the new type of gas. Then certified QA technicians randomly test and document the execution of the work.

As a company specialising in the installation, maintenance and replacement of gas and water meters as well as house service regulators, this is a task which GasGe, one of the industry’s most experienced service providers, has prepared for early on. Even in the 1990s, the company had overseen the conversion of city gas to natural gas.
However, just like the specified timetable, the large amount of the devices that must be surveyed and adjusted – some of which are older than 30 years – poses a challenge for everyone involved, from network operators to manufacturers, service providers to customers. This is compounded by the requirements for the technical skills of the installers, which must be verified, as well as the documentation and evaluations that are specified by the German Association for Gas and Water Applications (DVGW). At GasGe, this quickly resulted in the conclusion that a custom-fit, scalable IT solution was required for all the tasks, namely the processing of high volumes of orders for the gas device survey, adjustment and quality control.
This is exactly the solution provided by T-Systems Multimedia Solutions, for which a standard workforce management solution was gradually configured to meet the industry requirements and the necessary additional applications were developed.


Solution

Mobile, electronic data entry and data management in a planning portal with a modular structure

T-Systems Multimedia Solutions has implemented its portfolio of WFM solutions in various markets and industries for over ten years. The development of a customised solution for marketplace conversion started in 2014 and has been used with a mobile connection at GasGe since 2017. The solution is multi-client capable and operated in the Microsoft Azure Germany cloud as software as a service, comprising the following components:


For installers, the mobile client is the direct connection between the central planning office and their individual work locations, the private households. It helps them plan and process the order with data compilation and adjustments. Review and adjustment tasks are captured intuitively in electronic forms on the tablet and, where appropriate, supplemented with local photos to document the condition. Customised workflows and plausibility checks also support the installers as they work on site. An important feature is the mobile client’s offline capability, since the inspected gas equipment is often located out of wireless range.

Automatic Bluetooth transmission of readings of peripherical devices - for example to measure exhaust gas. Manufacturer-specific apps and protocols were integrated for each workflow so that installers can receive the results of their measuring processes in the electronic order form without further operations. 

 

A connection to the gas equipment database from the DVGW, which can be used to access all information, such as technical specifications about operating modes, setting parameters, order numbers for new gas nozzles or adjustability. If new gas devices are found that are not on file yet, existing information (manufacturer, type plate, etc.) can be sent to the DVGW via a defined interface for follow-up registration. This central database currently has over 16,000 entries.

Through the integration of the mobile solution into the central planning portal and infrastructure of GasGe, the orders for the specific consumer sites are assigned to the installers and, after the execution message, encrypted with the compiled data and returned via auto-push.

Thanks to the continuous data exchange between the three key elements of the solution, GasGe always has an overview of the current status and progress of the work at the consumer sites.


  • Benefits

    Seamless dataflows for a complete overview across all systems

    In the initial step, GasGe benefited from the modular construction of the offer provided by T-Systems Multimedia Solutions. This made it possible to replace the paper-based order processing with the mobile client within a short time – while work was in progress. Here the client was connected to the existing planning solution developed by GasGe itself.
    With the extensive travel and manual work of numerous installers, the industry-specific solution helps to coordinate the many appointments and work processes with optimised schedules and routes. All completed tasks are also documented for legal purposes in case there are any subsequent malfunctions in the adjusted equipment.

    Despite an increase in employed installers, GasGe was able to significantly improve the process reliability thanks to the lowered amount of manual process steps in the solution provided by T-Systems Multimedia Solutions.

  • Ulrich Masuch, Manager of GasGe

    „Above all, the data exchange between our own planning application, the databases and the mobile component without media discontinuity represents a special benefit for us. The elimination of the error-prone and time-consuming subsequent recording of paper documents has led to higher efficiency right from the start, but also the increased transparency of pending and completed orders in the system represents an important information gain for the necessary reporting to the network operator.“

About Gasanlagenservice Gelsenkirchen GmbH

Gasanlagenservice Gelsenkirchen GmbH (or GasGe) is a specialised service partner for energy supply companies. The company’s range of services includes, among others, the conversion and adjustment of gas equipment, the cyclical replacement of gas and water meters, inspections of house service regulators for gas, replacements of house service regulators for gas, technical services for manufacturers of gas equipment and inspections of interior parts of gas and water lines in buildings. For its customers, GasGe also handles installation tasks on gas lines as part of a conversion from counter meters to house service regulators.


Contact person

• Digitales Planungsportal für ein modernes Datenmanagement

Gasanlagenservice Gelsenkirchen GmbH

Passgenaue Branchenlösung
für einen Markt im Umbruch

Nutzen für unseren Kunden

Höhere Effizienz durch Wegfall der papierbasierten Auftragsbearbeitung

 

 

Mehr Transparenz und optimierte Planung durch mobile, medienbruchfreie Datenerfassung und -weiterverarbeitung

 

 

Erhöhte Prozesssicherheit durch Teilautomatisierung und Digitalisierung

 

 

  • Anforderungen

    Mammutaufgabe für eine ganze Branche

    In Deutschland gibt es derzeit zwei verschiedene Erdgassorten, die in zwei voneinander getrennten Netzen transportiert werden und die sich vom Brennwert unterscheiden – das L-Gas (Low Calorific Gas) und das H-Gas (High Calorific Gas). Laut Bundesnetzagentur wird derzeit ein Viertel der deutschen Haushalte mit L-Gas versorgt – das sind circa fünf Millionen Anschlüsse. Dieses Gas stammt aus deutschen und niederländischen Vorkommen, welche jedoch in absehbarer Zeit zur Neige gehen. Die Alternative liegt im H-Gas, welches primär aus Norwegen und Russland bezogen wird.
    Sukzessive müssen nach einem vorgegebenen Plan der Bundesnetzagentur bis 2029 nun über sechs Millionen Gasverbrauchsgeräte an die Versorgung mit H-Gas angepasst werden. Seit 2015 findet mit der sogenannten „L-/H-Gas Marktraumumstellung“ eines der größten Gas-Infrastrukturprojekte Deutschlands statt. Eine zwar einmalige, aber umfassende Mammutaufgabe für die verantwortlichen Netzbetreiber. Denn vor allem beim Kunden vor Ort entsteht der größte Aufwand. Hier müssen die einzelnen Gasgeräte in einer sogenannten Erhebungsphase hinsichtlich ihrer Eignung für die neue Gassorte identifiziert, dokumentiert und bewertet werden. Dies geschieht durch eigens zertifizierte Gas-Monteure. Je nach Einstufung müssen diese Geräte ein paar Monate später kurz vor oder nach der Umstellung der Gas-Sorte individuell angepasst und die Arbeitsausführung stichprobenartig durch zertifizierte QS-Techniker geprüft und dokumentiert werden.

Als spezialisiertes Unternehmen in den Bereichen Installation, Wartung und Wechsel von Gas- und Wasserzählern, wie auch Hausdruckregelgeräten, ist dies eine Aufgabe, auf die sich GasGe, einer der erfahrensten Dienstleister in der Branche, frühzeitig eingestellt hat. Schon in den neunziger Jahren hatte das Unternehmen die Umstellung von Stadt- auf Erdgas begleitet.
Die große Anzahl der zu erhebender und anzupassender Geräte, deren Alter teilweise über 30 Jahre beträgt, stellt jedoch ebenso wie der vorgegebene Zeitplan eine Herausforderung für alle Beteiligten dar – vom Netzbetreiber über Hersteller und Dienstleistungsfirmen bis hin zum Kunden. Hinzu kommen die nachzuweisenden Anforderungen an die technischen Fähigkeiten der jeweiligen Monteure sowie Dokumentation und Auswertungen, die vom Deutschen Verein des Gas- und Wasserfaches vorgegeben werden. Dies führte bei GasGe schnell zu der Schlussfolgerung, dass es hierfür einer passgenauen, skalierbaren IT-Lösung für das vorliegende Aufgabenpaket – nämlich das massenhafte Abarbeiten von Aufträgen zur Gasgeräteerhebung, -anpassung und Qualitätskontrolle – bedurfte.
Genau diese Lösung lieferte T-Systems Multimedia Solutions, indem eine Standard-Workforce-Management-Lösung nach und nach auf die Belange der Branche konfiguriert und erforderliche Zusatzanwendungen entwickelt wurden.


Lösung

Mobile, elektronische Datenerfassung und Datenmanagement im modular aufgebauten Planungsportal

Seit über zehn Jahren implementiert T-Systems Multimedia Solutions ihr Portfolio an WFM-Lösungen in verschiedenen Märkten und Branchen.
2014 startete die Entwicklung einer maßgeschneiderten Lösung für die Marktraumumstellung, die mit der mobilen Anbindung seit 2017 bei GasGe im Einsatz ist.
Die mandantenfähige, als Software-as-a-Service in der Microsoft Azure Deutschland-Cloud betriebene Lösung umfasst dabei folgende Komponenten:


Der mobile Client ist für die Monteure der direkte Draht zwischen dem zentralen Planungsbüro und ihren jeweiligen Einsatzorten, den Privathaushalten. Er unterstützt sie bei der Auftragsplanung und -bearbeitung mit Datenerhebung und -anpassung. Prüf- und Anpassungsarbeiten werden in elektronischen Formularen auf dem Tablet intuitiv erfasst und gegebenenfalls mit vor Ort aufgenommenen Fotos zur Zustandsdokumentation ergänzt. Zusätzlich unterstützen passgenaue Workflows und Plausibilitätsprüfungen die Monteure bei den jeweiligen Arbeitssituationen vor Ort. Eine wichtige Eigenschaft ist die Offline-Fähigkeit des mobilen Clients, da sich die zu inspizierenden Gasgeräte häufig außerhalb von Funkverbindungen befinden.

Automatische Bluetooth-Übertragung von Messwerten - zum Beispiel zur Abgasmessung. Dabei wurden herstellerabhängige Apps und Protokolle per Workflow eingebunden, so dass Monteure die Ergebnisse ihrer Messvorgänge ohne weitere Eingriffe in das elektronische Auftragsformular übertragen bekommen. 

Eine Anbindung an die Gasgerätedatenbank des Deutschen Vereins des Gas- und Wasserfaches (DVGW), über die sämtliche Informationen, wie beispielsweise technische Spezifikationen zu Betriebsarten, Einstellparametern, Bestellnummern für neue Gasdüsen oder Anpassbarkeit aufgerufen werden können. Werden neue, bislang noch nicht hinterlegte Gasgeräte vorgefunden, können vorhandene Informationen (Hersteller, Typenschild, etc.) an den DVGW über eine definierte Schnittstelle zwecks nachträglicher Registrierung zurückgemeldet werden. Aktuell befinden sich über 16.000 Einträge in dieser zentralen Datenbank.

 

Mit der Integration der mobilen Lösung in das zentrale Planungsportal und die Infrastruktur von GasGe werden die Aufträge für die jeweilige Verbrauchsstelle den Monteuren zugewiesen und nach Fertigmeldung mit den erfassten Daten verschlüsselt und per Auto-Push zurückgemeldet.

Dank des kontinuierlichen Datenaustauschs zwischen den drei Kernelementen der Lösung hat GasGe jederzeit einen Überblick über den aktuellen Stand und Fortschritt der Arbeiten an den Verbrauchsstellen.


  • Nutzen

    Medienbruchfreie Datenströme für komplette Übersicht über alle Systeme hinweg

    Im ersten Schritt profitierte GasGe von dem modularen Aufbau der T-Systems Multimedia Solutions-Lösung. So konnte bereits kurzfristig die papierbasierte Auftragsbearbeitung durch den mobilen Client abgelöst werden – und zwar im laufenden Prozess. Dabei wurde der Client an die bestehende, eigenentwickelte Planungslösung von GasGe angekoppelt.
    Aufgrund der umfangreichen Lauf- und Handarbeiten zahlreicher Monteure hilft die branchenspezifische Lösung, die vielen Termine und Arbeitsvorgänge zeit- und wegeoptimiert zu koordinieren. Zudem werden alle durchgeführten Arbeiten gerichtsfest dokumentiert, falls es nachträglich zu Störungen an den angepassten Gasgeräten kommen sollte.

    Trotz einer wachsenden Monteurbelegschaft konnte GasGe durch die verringerte Anzahl der manuellen Prozessschritte in der T-Systems Multimedia Solutions-Lösung die Prozesssicherheit deutlich erhöhen.

  • Ulrich Masuch, Geschäftsführer von GasGe

    „Vor allem der medienbruchfreie Datenaustausch zwischen der eigenen Planungsanwendung, den Datenbanken und der mobilen Komponente stellt für uns einen besonderen Nutzen dar. Der Wegfall der fehleranfälligen und zeitraubenden Nacherfassung von Papierbelegen hat von Beginn an zu höherer Effizienz geführt, aber auch die erhöhte Transparenz über offene und erledigte Aufträge im System stellt einen wichtigen Informationszugewinn für das erforderliche Reporting in Richtung Netzbetreiber dar.“

Über Gasanlagenservice Gelsenkirchen GmbH

Die Gasanlagenservice Gelsenkirchen GmbH, kurz GasGe, ist ein spezialisierter Dienstleistungspartner für Energieversorgungsunternehmen. Das Leistungsspektrum des Unternehmens umfasst unter anderem die Umstellung und Anpassung von Gasgeräten, das turnusmäßige Auswechseln von Gaszählern und Wasserzählern, die Überprüfungen von Gas Hausdruckregelgeräten, den Wechsel von Gas Hausdruckregelgeräten, technische Servicearbeiten für Gasgerätehersteller sowie Überprüfung der innenliegenden Teile der Gas- und Wasser-Hausanschlussleitungen. Ferner übernimmt GasGe für seine Kunden auch die Installationsarbeiten an Gasleitungen im Zuge einer Umstellung von Zählerreglern auf Gas-Hausdruckregler.


Ihre Ansprechpartnerin